First Taste of CoffeeScript

Its been more than 3 months since I have done anything useful. I am slowly trying to get back to normal from my forced medical sabbatical. Started reading and kind of trying to find out things i missed out in these 3+ months.

The way the technology world is going, if you miss the happenings for 3 months you may even start feeling that you are obsolete. I guess, it has been more than 6 to 9 months that I haven’t paid attention to client side UI frameworks. I happened to speak to few people recently on technologies like backbone.js, SASS and CoffeeScript. Looks like very interesting stuff, especially the CoffeeScript one.

CoffeeScript is a programming language that trans compiles to JavaScript. The language adds syntactic sugar to enhance JavaScript’s brevity and readability.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CoffeeScript
http://arcturo.github.com/library/coffeescript/

If you have ever written any complex piece of code in Javascript, then I am sure you understand the pain of maintaining it. If you happened to work in a pure Client Side UI Framework, then you can imagine the complexity and I am sure CoffeeScript definitely will help there.

If you are an ASP.NET developer, then you may want to read this post An Introduction to CoffeeScript

I have coded in JavaScript and I am a big fan of JavaScript. I tried writing some code yesterday using CoffeeScript and I for sure enjoyed writing it.

You can try it here http://coffeescript.org/

I somehow managed to read the first few chapters from the CoffeeScript book from Pragmatic series and its worth reading if you are interested in Javascript.

I also watched the Plural Sight video on CoffeeScript and it gave a very good overview.

To Summarize, If you are looking for a clean/readable Javascript code, I guess CoffeeScript is the way. Obviously you need to learn a language, but I am sure you will enjoy writing code without the curly braces.

Happy Learning!!!!

One thought on “First Taste of CoffeeScript

Leave a Reply

