Kanban – What is it all about?

My boss asked me to explain him about Kanban couple of weeks back. I tried explaining him with what we are doing in the project and what i have learnt from the web.

Kanban in a Nutshell – Following is the notes i got from Henrik Kniberg’s post
1. Visualize the workflow
Split the work into pieces, write each item on a card and put on the wall. Use named columns to illustrate where each item is in the workflow.
2. Limit WIP (work in progress)
Assign explicit limits to how many items may be in progress at each workflow state.
3. Measure the lead time
Average time to complete one item, sometimes called “cycle time”, optimize the process to make lead time as small and predictable as possible.
My boss asked me, Is that it? Yes, in a nutshell Kanban is all about this. In japanese, Kanban means “Visual Card”.
The next question my boss asked me was Ok, how does it really change things?
I tried giving some answers, but it was not direct. I will write about this in my next post.

Reference URL
http://www.crisp.se/kanban
Happy Reading!!!

Leave a Reply

