Fish

One of the projects that I manage is nearing its completion and we want to give a good working software to our customer. We have developed a framework on which we are building the custom application and we are in the process of making our UI Look and Feel better. When we started changing the UI, we have found few usability issues and we are working on fixing those usability issues now.

I was not doing well last couple of days. My energy level was down and the usual smile was missing from my face L. Last 2 weekends we worked and we as a team were desperate for a break this weekend (Pressure???).

I got up late today and thought I will read something as I did not read anything last 2 weeks. I started reading FISH! A Remarkable way to Boost Morale and Improve Results. I have seen the FISH movie before, but this is the first time I am reading it.

I never thought reading a book can boost my energy level. I completed this in an hour’s time and I felt like going to work today.

Awesome book

Some of the items, which I liked in this book, are

There is always a choice about the way you do your work,

Even if there is not a choice about the work itself

We can choose the attitude we bring to work.

Learning’s:

Choose your attitude: Choose to make today a great day. Your colleagues, customers, team members and you yourself will be thankful.

Find ways to play: We can be serious about work without being serious about ourselves

Be Present: Stay focused in order to be present when your customers and team members most need you

Make their day: Find someone who needs a helping hand, a word of support, or a good ear – and make their day

I borrowed this book from sendhil. Thank you sendhil J

 

Next Step: I will try to find the movie and watch it with my team J

One thought on “Fish

Leave a Reply

